Where Do You Do Your Best Thinking?

Yesterday morning I woke up at 5a.  That’s what time my alarm goes off in the morning.  I usually do my P90x workout – Thursday is my yoga day.  But that’s a 90 minute routine and I had a lot of work to do.  So I decided to skip it and get my day started even earlier.

I hopped in the shower and about 15 minutes later my wife, Linda, strolled by.  She wanted to know when I would be done.  Apparently my bride was anxious to get her day started too.  Our daughters would be awake very soon and she needed to get ready.  She pointed out to me that I take very long showers.  I couldn’t disagree.  I told her I find long hot showers to be very meditating.  I do my best thinking in there.

Linda then brought to my attention that several celebrities, including Jennifer Aniston, take 3 minute showers to conserve water.  As a matter of fact, Jennifer Aniston even brushes her teeth in the shower (that is, of course, if you believe the celebrity gossip magazines).

Now I’m all for conservation.  Our back yard has fake grass and we recycle everything.  But I draw the line at short showers.  Besides, I told my wife, Jennifer Aniston is a hypocrite.  She lives in a huge house in Beverly Hills that overlooks the ocean.  According to People magazine the master bathroom has a spa bath with soaking tub.  Her water and electric bill is higher than my entire neighborhood.

I had to laugh this morning when I came across a piece in the New York Times titled, Do Nothing (Impossible?).  The writer, Matt Richtel, discusses the benefits of doing nothing.  There’s even a website you can go to, do nothing for 2 minutes.  The idea is to clear your mind.  I tried it as soon as I got to my office today and it seems to be working.  How else can you explain my extra creative wittiness in this post?

Bob Proctor, one of my favorite personal development coaches, likes to say that 2% of people think – 3% of people think they think – and 95% of people would rather die than think.   I don’t know if he did a real survey to come up with these numbers but my guess is he’s pretty accurate.

So where do you do your best thinking?  In the shower?  At the gym?  In your car?  Do you ever turn everything off and clear your mind?  If you do so on a regular basis you’ll be in rare company.  According to Napoleon Hill, author of Think and Grow Rich, some of the most successful people in this country, from Thomas Edison to Henry Ford, devoted time everyday to thinking.

I recommend you start out by devoting 5 minutes a day to this exercise.  Over time, see if you can increase it to 30 minutes.  You’ll be amazed at the results you get – in both your personal and business life.  But if you’re like me and do your best thinking in the shower then you may want to set aside some extra money each month to pay the water bill.

Leave a comment

Filed under Business Development

Leave a Reply

